Rochelle Becomes An Essential Worker

Everything changed on March 20, 2020 when Covid-19 started running our lives. Rochelle had a job that interacted with the public; It couldn’t be done from home. She had become an “essential worker.” Rochelle had scheduled a reunion in March with family members in Dallas. Even though it was strongly suggested that one not gather in groups, Rochelle went ahead with it anyway. She didn’t seem concerned at all. I, on the other hand, isolated. Very quickly the grocery store Rochelle worked for limited the number of customers that could enter their stores, set up plastic partitions between customers and cashiers, and started limiting their store hours so that the stores could be sanitized during closed hours. In June 2020 all employees received a $2.00/hr. pay increase; Hazard pay for working as an essential worker during a pandemic. Sick days were increased and employees were told not to come in if they were ill. Nevertheless, essential workers were in contact with a lot of different people and had a high risk of contracting Covid-19. Rochelle often had her mother at home. Her mother was on dialysis and not in good health. And there were still two children at home. COVID infection was a constant problem. Her children were being taught virtually.

In December of 2020, just before a COVID spike, I did have lunch with Rochelle at an outdoor location near her new apartment. She had wanted to see me because she had some exciting news. It had been about a year since we had seen each other in person. The news was that she had been promoted to the lead employee at her store’s curbside pickup department. She got a pay increase again. She was excited about it. And proud. She still didn’t want to move back into management, but this was a supervisory job. It made her know that the company was pleased with her work. It was great news.

Covid-19 vaccines started to be available in December 2020. At first they were hard to get for most people. I asked Rochelle if she were going to get one. “No, I’m not sure they are safe; They were developed too fast,” said Rochelle. “I think I’ll wait about a year before I get one.” She stuck with that decision even though I sent her all sorts of information about the safety of the vaccines. I discussed how I and all my friends and relatives had received the vaccine when we managed to sign up for one in January/February 2021. I asked her to talk to her doctor. Soon her store’s pharmacy was a location people were going to for their vaccines, but still she refused. I told her her mother’s life was at a high risk without the people around her getting vaccinated. I sent her article after article encouraging her to change her mind. Nothing worked. And because of that I was also unable to see her. I was vaccinated at the end of January and by the end of February Rochelle was the only friend or relative I had who was still unvaccinated.

Rochelle and her children got vaccinated in February 2022. A year after she was first able to get it. Just like she had said. She waited a year. People are still reading this blog six years after I ended it. Some people want to know how Rochelle is now doing. They have become vested in her journey. I told this to Rochelle and she suggested maybe we should start interviewing her again. I talked to my anthropologist sister Jessie and we decided I should interview Rochelle about twice a month. This time the pay will be $30 per interview plus lunch. If all goes as planned she will be in my living room this coming Monday. “Lots has happened,” said Rochelle. I saw her about a month ago but “lots” can happen quickly in Rochelle’s difficult life.

Leave a comment